On loyalty aka I’d rather be rolling around in a pit full of Black Mambas…..

Hello skinlovers.

It is a funny thing when people want something from you they try and pull the friendship card or the loyalty  card, forgetting conveniently that it is a two way street.

For example, I was once asked for an estimate on a programme and they stressed that their budget was very restricted and limited, so in the spirit of co-operation I gave them a fair price for a duration of a month. Well season 2 of said programme came along and again the same story, now there was a twist. My mother went into hospital and stayed there for two months and died.
Here is where it gets shitty, while she was in hospital I was clamoured ceaselessly about when I can come to work (it’s not as if I shirked my duties). Then she died, and the condolences were on their way (3 days usually) by the second day they were begging me to show up and do the work and leave, and I said yes since my mother taught me once you make an agreement you stick to it and you hold up your end of the bargain. I told the production that I would be there and that everyone should be on time because I had to leave for the condolences, well, welcome to Jordan, of course they were late.

A year later I get a phone call saying we would like to work with you on season 3 can you come in, to which I replied of course. Now I go to the meeting and am sitting across from a certain person who proceeds to tell me that they put as my budget 150 Jds per day. Of course I was floored I was ike how dare you persume to do that without consulting me, that is what I pay my assistants. Then the same story of tight and restrictive budgets came up, and my answer was like O really  you are getting XX million and you expect me to accept this, where is the whole “growing together” and “working on many more projects in the future” I was just so livid. This was their idea of loyalty, really?

Another example is, one works on a film because one has a bit of civic pride and takes a substantial pay-cut again because one wants to help foster the film industry in Jordan, next film comes along same thing.
Then the director has a 3rd project do they ask one to join, no they do not, they instead choose to hire some foreigner (who barely has a clue) to head the department and then they ask ones brother if one would accept the assistant label, so of course ones brother says hell no on ones behalf, and rightly so.

This is just to point out to you fledgling younglings out there to learn this:

THERE IS NO LOYALTY.

THEY WILL BULLSHIT YOU.

THEY WILL PULL THE RESTRICTIVE BUDGET EXCUSE.

THEY WILL TRY AND USE THE FRIENDSHIP CARD.

THEY WILL MOST DEFINITELY TROT OUT THE OLD CHESTNUT OF GROWING TOGETHER AND WORKING ON FUTURE PROJECTS TOGETHER.

What I am saying here is trust no one, be nice but not too nice, they will try and take advantage of you.
Colour me bitter and disillusioned.

#BullshitFilmIndustryInJordan
#GrowingTogetherWhataCrock
#TheyExpectSomethingForNothing
#WhyShouldIWorkForFreeWhenYouAreEarningAShitLoadOfMOneyOnMySweat

About descantia

A melting pot of contradictions! Artist, Designer (most media), Copywriter, Thespian, Chanteuse, Dancer, Performance artist, Make-up artist and so much more... The penultimate liberal hedonist with conservative leanings! Exacting, free, libertine with a Courtesan mentality! Honest, blunt, viciously unkind when dealing with fools, ingrates, liars, and any deceivers. Detests: Hypocrisy, Disloyalty, Infidelity, Stupidity, Anyone Devoid of Morals Ethics and decent manners and behaviour. Loves being a Snarky Grumpy Bitter Old Elitist!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

