Rantings on mentoring or TOR-Mentoring in Jordan! :-D

Hello Skinlovers!

Here’s a mini rant! 😀

Some one in the film industry once had the gall to ask me why I do not mentor and I do not do anything for the film industry in Jordan.

So after I finished swearing at them (amongst telling them to go do physically and anatomically impossible acts on themselves) I replied.

I am one of the few make-up artists/ Whatever-you want in film go-to persons who actually does that!

I take people under my wings and I teach them my way of doing things without restricting their talents. Just because I don’t post it on my facebook, or tweet it, or instagram it, some people do (I mean seriously do I want to know you took a dump), I do not over-share.

I find and nurture talents to the detriment of my own business, which means why would people hire me (since I am “Too Expensive” in their eyes) when they can hire some of my assistants/minions (depending on whom you ask) at a fraction of my prices.

Most film-makers know they can phone me and they will get advice, and where to go to get stuff, and some times they are even allowed into my Sanctus Sanctorum to film.
I do all this and yet I am the one who is “Difficult”, “Too Expensive”, “Antagonistic” (duh! Of course when you are an idiot who does not know how to do your job some one with experience ME will tell you how to do it).

I am not some blue light k-mart special discount offer.

So yes I do get insulted. And yes I eventually will become even more bitter, but such is life.
This town wants people like me to work for free because “It will be fun!”, or when they get the information they turn around and say “O Walid is difficult and too expensive to work with” forgetting all the time that on any production I have worked on I am always the first on set before most of the crew. I run an efficient team that can function like a hot knife through butter even when I am not around.The only team that usually gets things done without a hassle is mine (and that is because I fight for their rights and I am not one of those who sits back and let them do all the work, actually other way round they are treated better than anyone), and lord help anyone who interferes in my teams work they will have to deal with Mamma Monster (as one of my minions calls me).

So please spare me the pontificating on my behalf, and do not tell me what to do. The RFC and everyone nearly in this industry knows who I am and what I can bring to the table, and if you don’t then you do not count.

About descantia

A melting pot of contradictions! Artist, Designer (most media), Copywriter, Thespian, Chanteuse, Dancer, Performance artist, Make-up artist and so much more... The penultimate liberal hedonist with conservative leanings! Exacting, free, libertine with a Courtesan mentality! Honest, blunt, viciously unkind when dealing with fools, ingrates, liars, and any deceivers. Detests: Hypocrisy, Disloyalty, Infidelity, Stupidity, Anyone Devoid of Morals Ethics and decent manners and behaviour. Loves being a Snarky Grumpy Bitter Old Elitist!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

