An Ode to Childhood Streets

I have dreamt of you so much that I have dreamt you out,
You took and took until nothing remained,
Nothing but cold empty heart
And a husk where a body was
But I am not easily forgotten
I will appear where you least expect
To make you pay
You asked for it that way.

You pushed me to ground stamped on me
You hit me against the wall and I bled
I took every blow with chin held high
You tried to take my dignity and I survived.

You told me this was my lesson to be taught
And that these were the weapons you were giving me
To learn to survive in this war of life.
Still I sang and still I danced
You could not stop me
Tried to break me
And you failed
So this is my ode to you

You cannot break my spirit
Though you may break the flesh
I STAND STRONGER THAN BEFORE

About descantia

A melting pot of contradictions! Artist, Designer (most media), Copywriter, Thespian, Chanteuse, Dancer, Performance artist, Make-up artist and so much more... The penultimate liberal hedonist with conservative leanings! Exacting, free, libertine with a Courtesan mentality! Honest, blunt, viciously unkind when dealing with fools, ingrates, liars, and any deceivers. Detests: Hypocrisy, Disloyalty, Infidelity, Stupidity, Anyone Devoid of Morals Ethics and decent manners and behaviour. Loves being a Snarky Grumpy Bitter Old Elitist!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

