A few thoughts at the closing of the year (part the second).

Hello Skinlovers,

As we draw even closer to the closing of the year, and a rather vicious one at that for a lot of people, to quote Queen Elizabeth II “This has rather been Annus Horribullis!”

What is it with the youngsters of this town, there seems to be something going horribly wrong. Take for instance this story:
I suggested a young man who is studying at SAE to take pictures of a certain local Rock Star, which he did and did well. Then I championed him to direct the video, and there is where it went horribly wrong. I was one of the people 5 months ago that help form the idea. Now the youngling who has a sister who works in make-up too, hasn’t been in touch to discuss the shoot (even though we were supposed to start on the 18th of December), he hasn’t even gotten in touch with any of us except one N. (and she told him that the way he was planning on doing was not feasible, first because of Christmas and then her engagement in January) he has not talked to me though I am supposed to be a kind of Assistant Director/Art Director, not a peep. I sent him messages on FB (facebook) and no reply.
See what I mean the thing is this, why is it when you stick your neck out for someone they feel as if they are entitled to behave in such a manner. I thought this one would be different because he lived in the UNited Kingdom, but I guess he didn’t acquire the finesse there. What to do.
I guess my New years resolution shall be “Why should I help anyone when no one is helping me!” seriously, I keep on giving and getting kicked in the face for my efforts. Yes, a few appreciate me, but that is not enough, I am sick of the users and leeches.

So entitlement “de rigeur”, everyone in this buggery town just feels they have the right to misbehave yes that is exactly what it is MISBEHAVING! Rude, uncouth, coarse, and vulgar the whole town has been affected and infected with this pandemic, until when will we who have some small measure of Ethics, morals, and conscience, have to put up with the rudeness of society, the 2 hour late syndrome (this happened at an intimate gathering on the 22nd people showing up willy nilly, and that seriously pissed me off, these are people that rsvp’d that they would be there at 19:30, and show up at 21:00 or 22:00) and they even arrive unapologetic.
What are we to do with people like that.
And everyone wonders why I turned into a hermit. Well, there you have the answer, instead of dealing with rude people I choose not to get upset and stay on course with myself.

There are a few days left so I will not promise that I will not rant some more, so watch this space…

Merry Christmas by the way. 😀

About descantia

A melting pot of contradictions! Artist, Designer (most media), Copywriter, Thespian, Chanteuse, Dancer, Performance artist, Make-up artist and so much more... The penultimate liberal hedonist with conservative leanings! Exacting, free, libertine with a Courtesan mentality! Honest, blunt, viciously unkind when dealing with fools, ingrates, liars, and any deceivers. Detests: Hypocrisy, Disloyalty, Infidelity, Stupidity, Anyone Devoid of Morals Ethics and decent manners and behaviour. Loves being a Snarky Grumpy Bitter Old Elitist!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A few thoughts at the closing of the year (part the second).

  1. mangatake says:

    Sounds like you’ve been crossing paths with one too many ingrates, but that shouldn’t put you off the whole of humanity (or Jordanians). My personal philosophy is not to expect much from people and not to take things personally. I find that I’m rarely disappointed. People worth the bother are few. My circle of friends is small and select because of that very reason. But friends and acquaintances are two different species and shouldn’t be held to the same standards and expectations. Keep everyone under the “acquaintance” label until they prove otherwise, that’s my piece of advice, whatever it’s worth.

    • descantia says:

      See I tired to do that, but then I have my family’s weakness we keep thinking the best of humanity and believe we should give everyone a chance, knowing full well that not all people should be treated equally…
      It’s our family curse. And we pay dearly for it time and time again (yes I know that is the definition of insanity), O well Merry Christmass to you! 😀

      • mangatake says:

        Well that’s one heck of an endearing quality 😀 in that case don’t lose faith, you’ll find great apples among the mediocre ❤ Hope you had a very merry Christmas and here's to a brillaint new year!

    • descantia says:

      Thanks you might be onto something. I tried the live and let live method, I tried the Jordanian “Tannish” “Marigha” & “Masheeha” all failed miserably, people just take it as a sign of weakness. And they persist in getting in your face.
      Yall only time will tell. 😀

      • mangatake says:

        It’s alright. When it gets to be too much, you’ll automatically go into “terminator” mode and bring them down to size. Natural de-stressor instinct 🙂 Those are usually the only times I turn assertive and put people in their place. Doesn’t happen often enough, but nature does take it course eventually. When that *does* happen, make sure to share the stories 😀 I for one love your rants! (Not that I don’t wish you a pleasantly git-free life, of course, but pests tend to make good fodder for interesting stories.) If it’s worth anything, I’ll be wishing you a peaceful 2012.

      • descantia says:

        Git-free new year if only! 😀 Thanks and the same to you. I can tell you this I heard a quote once so I will paraphrase it here: We are surrounded by idiots take a step back and look around you! (and this was a guy describing the crash and he was one of the USA’s leading financial analysts) And that is the premise I have when dealing with folk in this town.:-D

Leave a Reply

