The Gospel according to the PSB! :-D

Hello Skinlovers,

Here we are again!


In our part of the world we get distracted from the real issues by senseless violence caused by extreme ignorance, sectarianism, religious bigots and idiotic arse-wipes.

So in accordance with being fed up with all that nonsens I have decided to post the gospels according to the PSB (Pet Shop Boys), sorry to say that their lyrics have helped me through tough times more than any book subscribed and proscribed by any organised religion (Sorry God but your fan-clubs have really let the world down, not to mention your representatives and those who claim to have a hot-line connected to you), the whole mess we live in today has been cause by organised religion and its twisted mouth-pices here in our existence.

Simple rules to follow, when some one claims that God is talking to them,you should really be wary. And when someone else claims that God has told him to oppress, fight, kill, and maim innocents, common sense dictates that this person is deranged.

So without further ado here is the gospels in the lyrics of PSB (you will be pleasantly surprised, and a word of warning it is long, gospels are supposed to be wordy!):

(You gotta have fun)
(You gotta have fun)
(You gotta have fun)
You live upon a stage, and everyone's agreed
You're the brightest hope by far that anyone can see
So when you take the limelight you can guarantee
You're gaining fame and claiming credibility
     Tell me baby, are you gonna get high as a kite?
     Tell me baby, are you gonna let it happen every night
     How can you expect to be taken seriously?
You live within the law, and everyone assumes
You must find this a bore, and try something new
You're an intellectual giant, an authority
To preach and teach the whole world about ecology
     Tell me baby, are you gonna make any other claims?
     Tell me baby, are you gonna take any of the blame?
     How can you expect to be taken seriously?
[  From: http://www.elyrics.net/read/p/pet-shop-boys-lyrics/how-can-you-expect-to-be-taken-seriously-lyrics.html ]
     How can you expect to be taken seriously?
(Do you have a message for my friends?
Or your family servants?)
(You gotta have fun)
(You gotta have fun)
You live within the headlines, so everyone can see
You're supporting every new cause and meeting royalty
You're another major artist on a higher plane
Do you think they'll put you in the Rock'n'Roll Hall of Fame?
     Tell me baby, how you generate longevity
     Tell me baby, how you really hate publicity
     How can you expect to be taken seriously?
     How can you expect to be taken seriously?
     How can you expect to be taken seriously?
Seriously
Seriously
Ooh, seriously
(You gotta have fun)

Your life's a mystery, mine is an open book
If I could read your mind, I think I'd take a look
     I don't care
     Baby, I'm not scared
What have you got to fight? What do you need to prove?
You're always telling lies, and that's the only truth
     I don't care
     Baby, I'm not scared
          Tonight the streets are full of actors
          I don't know why
          Oh, take these dogs away from me
          Before they, they bite
What have you got to say of shadows in your past?
I thought that, if you paid, you'd keep them off our backs
     But I don't care
     Baby, I'm not scared
What have you got to hide? Who will it compromise?
Where do we have to be, so I can laugh and you'll be free?
     I'd go anywhere
     Baby, I don't care
     I'm not scared
( From: http://www.elyrics.net/read/p/pet-shop-boys-lyrics/i_m-not-scared-lyrics.html )
     I don't care
     Baby, I'm not scared
          Tonight the streets are full of actors
          I don't know why
          Oh, take these dogs away from me
          Before they, they bite
          Tonight I fought and made my mind up
          I know it's right
          I know these dogs still snap around us
          But I can, I can fight
If I was you, if I was you
I wouldn't treat me the way you do
If I was you, if I was you
I wouldn't treat me the way you do - you
If I was you, if I was you
I wouldn't treat me the way you do
If I was you, if I was you
I wouldn't treat me the way you do - you
     I'm not scared
     Baby, I don't care
     I'd go anywhere
     Baby, I'm not scared
     I'm not scared
     Oh, I'm not scared

(You gotta have fun)
(You gotta have fun)
(You gotta have fun)
(You gotta have fun)

At dead of night, when strangers roam
The streets in search of anyone who'll take them home
I lie alone, the clock strikes three
And anyone who wanted to could contact me
At dead of night, 'till break of day
Endless thoughts and questions keep me awake
It's much too late
Where've you been?
Who've you seen?
You didn't phone when you said you would!
Do you lie?
Do you try
To keep in touch? You know you could
I've tried to see your point of view
But could not hear or see
For jealousy
I never knew time pass so slow
I wish I'd never met you, or that I could bear to let you go
At dead of night, 'till break of day
Endless thoughts and questions keep me awake
It's much too late
Where've you been?
Who've you seen?
You didn't phone when you said you would!
Do you lie?
Do you try
To keep in touch?  You know you could
I've tried to see your point of view
But could not hear or see
For jealousy
Where've you been?
Who've you seen?
You didn't phone when you said you would!
Do you lie?
Do you try
To keep in touch?  You know you could
I've tried to see your point of view
But could not hear or see
For jealousy
Where've you been?
Who've you seen?
You didn't phone when you said you would!
Do you lie?
Do you try
To keep in touch?  You know you could
I've tried to see your point of view
But could not hear or see
For jealousy
Where've you been?
Who've you seen?
You didn't phone when you said you would!
Do you lie?
Do you try
To keep in touch?  You know you could
I've tried to see your point of view
But could not hear or see
For jealousy
I never knew 'til I met you

My anthem when I was young an pretty:

You dress me up, I'm your puppet
You buy me things, I love it
You bring me food, I need it
You give me love, I feed it
And look at the two of us in sympathy
With everything we see
I never want anything, it's easy
You buy whatever I need
But look at my hopes, look at my dreams
The currency we've spent
I love you, you pay my rent
I love you, you pay my rent
You phone me in the evening on hearsay
And bought me caviar
You took me to a restaurant off Broadway
To tell me who you are
We never-ever argue, we never calculate
The currency we've spent
I love you, you pay my rent
I love you, you pay my rent
I love you, you pay my rent
I'm your puppet
I love it
And look at the two of us in sympathy
And sometimes ecstasy
Words mean so little, and money less
[  From: http://www.elyrics.net/read/p/pet-shop-boys-lyrics/rent-lyrics.html ]
When you're lying next to me
But look at my hopes, look at my dreams
The currency we've spent
I love you, you pay my rent
I love you, you pay my rent
I love you, you pay my rent
Look at my hopes, look at my dreams
The currency we've spent
I love you, you pay my rent
I love you, you pay my rent
Look at my hopes, look at my dreams
The currency we've spent
I love you, you pay my rent
I love you, you pay my rent
I love you, you pay my rent (It's easy, it's so easy)
You pay my rent (It's easy, it's so easy)
You pay my rent (It's easy, it's so easy)
I love you (It's easy, it's so easy)
(It's easy, it's so easy)
(It's easy, it's so easy)
(It's easy, it's so easy)
(It's easy, it's so easy)
(It's easy, it's so easy)
(It's easy, it's so easy)

You don't care about nothing
So you don't care about love
If you want me to come back
You'd better change
You'd better give up talking about money
Begin thinking of love
If you want me to come back
You'd better change
     You'd better change for the better
     It cost more than dollars and cents
     Take it from me there's - got to be
     An end to this decadence
     This decadence
You don't care about people
So you don't care about pain
If you want me to come back
You'd better change
     You'd better change for the better
     Start using some common sense
     Take it from me there's - got to be
[ From: http://www.elyrics.net/read/p/pet-shop-boys-lyrics/decadence-lyrics.html ]
     An end to this decadence
     For decadence - is fatal
     It's the beginning of the end
     In self-defense
     I cannot recommend
     This decadence
You don't care about real life
You're too distant and strange
If you want me to come back
     You'd better change for the better
     It may be rather intense
     Stop this caprice, you've got to cease
     This fin-de-siecle pretence
     For decadence - is fatal
     It's the beginning of the end
     In consequence
     I cannot recommend
     This decadence
     This decadence
     This decadence
This decadence

Darling, you were wonderful, you really were quite good
I enjoyed that, though, of course, no one understood
A word of what was going on, they didn't have a clue
They couldn't understand your sense of humour like I do
     Yesterday, when I was mad
     In anyone, in anyone, in anyone's sincerity
     Yesterday, when I was mad
     In anyone, in anyone, in anyone's sincerity
You have a certain quality, which really is unique
Expressionless, such irony, although your voice is weak
[From: http://www.elyrics.net/read/p/pet-shop-boys-lyrics/yesterday-when-i-was-mad-lyrics.html]
It doesn't really matter 'cause the music is so loud
Of course it's all on tape, but no one will find out
     Yesterday, when I was mad
     In anyone, in anyone, in anyone's sincerity
     Yesterday, when I was mad
     In anyone, in anyone, in anyone's sincerity
     Yesterday, when I was mad
     In anyone, in anyone, in anyone's sincerity
     Yesterday, when I was mad
     In anyone, in anyone, in anyone's sincerity
Then, when I was lonely
I thought again
And changed my mind

(Ooh ah ah ooh ah ah ooh ah ooh) [Hello]
(Ooh ah ah ooh ah ah ooh ah ooh)
(Ooh ah ah ooh ah ah ooh ah ooh)
(Ooh ah ah ooh ah ah ooh ah ooh) [Dahhhling - mmwah!]
[How dare you? Do you know who I am?]
[You look fabulous! - mmwah!]
I know what you think
It's clear as mud in your eyes
We're the plastic poseurs and prostitutes
You've obviously come to despise
But you don't know nothing
You're not hot enough to matter
You don't understand it's the glamorous life
A dream that no one can shatter

     We're shameless
     We will do anything
     To get our fifteen minutes of fame
     We have no integrity
     We're ready to crawl to obtain celebrity
     We'll do anything at all
I'm ambitious
Believe me, I'm going to be big
I'm a slave to glamour
Applause and clamour
My makeup, my wardrobe, my wigs
Don't call me pathetic
I'm harder than you'll ever guess
Relentlessly tough, for when the going gets rough
The tough get their picture in the press
     We're shameless
     We will do anything
     To get our fifteen minutes of fame
     We have no integrity
     We're ready to crawl to obtain celebrity
     We'll do anything at all
(Anything, anything, anything at all)
[From: http://www.elyrics.net/read/p/pet-shop-boys-lyrics/shameless-lyrics.html ]
(We'll do anything, anything, anything at all)
(We'll do anything, anything, anything at all)
(We'll do anything, anything, anything at all)
[It's going perfectly alright]
[How dare you? Do you know who I am?]
[It's an absolute disgrace]
Tell me you love me
Admit it, you're really impressed
Would it not amuse you
For me to seduce you
Have you ever seen me undressed?
     We're shameless
     We will do anything
     To get our fifteen minutes of fame (Give me fifteen minutes)
     We have no integrity
     We're ready to crawl to obtain celebrity
     We'll do anything at all
     We're shameless
     We will do anything
     To get our fifteen minutes of fame (Give me fifteen minutes)
     We have no integrity
     We're ready to crawl to obtain celebrity
     We'll do anything
     With anyone
     Go absolutely anywhere
     For anything
     At all
(Ooh ah ah ooh ah ah ooh ah ooh)  [I'm terribly sorry]
(Ooh ah ah ooh ah ah ooh ah ooh)
(Ooh ah ah ooh ah ah ooh ah ooh)
(Ooh ah ah ooh ah ah ooh ah ooh)
(Ooh ah ah ooh ah ah ooh ah ooh)
(Ooh ah ah ooh ah ah ooh ah ooh)
(Ooh ah ah ooh ah ah ooh ah ooh)
(Ooh ah ah ooh ah ah ooh ah ooh)

{Twenty seconds and counting
T-minus fifteen seconds, guidance is okay}

When I look back upon my life
It's always with a sense of shame
I've always been the one to blame
For everything I long to do
No matter when or where or who
Has one thing in common, too

It's a, it's a, it's a, it's a sin
It's a sin
Everything I've ever done
Everything I ever do
Every place, I've ever been
Everywhere I'm going to
It's a sin

At school they taught me how to be
So pure in thought and word and deed
They didn't quite succeed
For everything I long to do
No matter when or where or who
Has one thing in common, too

It's a, it's a, it's a, it's a sin
It's a sin
Everything I've ever done
Everything I ever do
Every place I've ever been
[ From: http://www.elyrics.net/read/p/pet-shop-boys-lyrics/it_s-a-sin-lyrics.html ]
Everywhere I'm going to
It's a sin

Father, forgive me, I tried not to do it
Turned over a new leaf, then tore right through it
Whatever you taught me, I didn't believe it
Father, you fought me, 'cause I didn't care
And I still don't understand

So I look back upon my life
Forever with a sense of shame
I've always been the one to blame
For everything I long to do
No matter when or where or who
Has one thing in common, too

It's a, it's a, it's a, it's a sin
It's a sin
Everything I've ever done
Everything I ever do
Every place I've ever been
Everywhere I'm going to, it's a sin
It's a, it's a, it's a, it's a sin
It's a, it's a, it's a, it's a sin

Confiteor Deo omnipotenti vobis fratres, quia peccavi nimis cogitatione
Verbo, opere et omissione, mea culpa, mea culpa, mea maxima culpa

You live in a world of excess where more is more and less is much less
 A day without fame is a waste and a question of need is a question of taste You're so flamboyant the way you look It gets you so much attention Your sole employment is getting more You want police intervention You're so flamboyant the way you live You really care that they stare And the press deployment is always there It's what you do for enjoyment You live in a time of decay when the worth of a man is how much he can play Every day all the public must know where you are, what you do 'cause your life is a show and You're so flamboyant the way you live and it's not even demeaning You're so flamboyant It's like a drug you use to give your life meaning You're so flamboyant The way you look It gets you so much attention Your sole employment Is getting more You want police intervention Every actor needs an audience Every action is a performance It all takes courage You know it Just crossing the street well, it's almost heroic You're so flamboyant... There you are at another preview In a pose the artist and you To look so loud may be considered tacky Collectors wear black clothes by Issey Miyake You're so flamboyant the way you look It gets you so much attention Your sole employment is getting more You want police intervention You're so flamboyant The way you live You really care that they stare And the press deployment is always there It's what you do for enjoyment You're so flamboyant You're so flamboyant

Don't wanna hear the news What's going on What's coming through I don't wanna know Don't wanna know Just wanna hide away Make my my escape I want the world To leave me alone Feels like I feel too much I've seen too much For a little while I want to forget I wanna be numb I don't wanna feel this pain no more Wanna lose touch I just wanna go and lock the door I don't wanna think I don't wanna feel nothing I wanna be numb I just wanna be Wanna be numb Can't find no space to breathe World's closing in Right on me now Well that's how it feels That's how it feels Too much light There's too much sound Wanna turn it off Wanna shut it out I need some relief Think that like I think too much I've seen too much There is just too much Thought in my head I wanna be numb I don't wanna feel this pain no more Wanna lose touch I just wanna go and lock the door I don't wanna think I don't wanna feel nothing I wanna be numb I just wanna be Wanna be Taken away from all the madness Need to escape Escape from the pain I'm out on the edge About to lose my mind For a little while For a little while I wanna be numb I don't wanna think I don't wanna feel nothing I wanna be numb I don't wanna feel this pain no more Wanna lose touch I just wanna go and lock the door I don't wanna think I don't wanna feel nothing I wanna be numb I just wanna be Wanna be numb I just wanna be Wanna be numb 
About descantia

A melting pot of contradictions! Artist, Designer (most media), Copywriter, Thespian, Chanteuse, Dancer, Performance artist, Make-up artist and so much more... The penultimate liberal hedonist with conservative leanings! Exacting, free, libertine with a Courtesan mentality! Honest, blunt, viciously unkind when dealing with fools, ingrates, liars, and any deceivers. Detests: Hypocrisy, Disloyalty, Infidelity, Stupidity, Anyone Devoid of Morals Ethics and decent manners and behaviour. Loves being a Snarky Grumpy Bitter Old Elitist!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

