Things I have learnt this week! October 2011… :-D

Greetings Skinlovers,

The fun is back, the energy is back (weather permitting), but most of all the BITCH IS BACK! 😀

Yaaay! Fall, Autumn, and all that jazz now is the dawn of the energiser bunny on crack.

But a little rant and a rave to go with it.

I learnt this week passed, that life is short, R.I.P. STEVE JOBS. A Visionary, a genius, a misunderstood genius, a man who has left his imprint on humanity, one that cannot be forgotten nor erased. (There! That was my bit of maudlin sentimentality). Hope all the Apple fans are mollified out there.

Now let the ranting begin.
How is it that peopele dare to call themselves professional and yet still come across as scatter-brained? An example, I am working on designing the make-up for something big, before Ramadan I asked for pictures of the cast in costume, I was told take pictures but the designs and the cast were not ready. So one waited patiently until after the feast and one shows up for rehearsals, trying to get a meeting with a very ADD distracted producer, and again I get the “take pictures” which I did (but that doesn’t help when you don’t see the actor in all his glory and costume does it now?), so I sent several emails saying I need to have some images before we shoot, so I can at least see the costume to know what I am going to do with the hair.
Well no pictures forthcoming and I sent of some rough designs for the make-up, the first batch were “too European” so I sent some others and they were more to their liking (thank Dog for that).
I send the emails saying I need 50% up front (that isn’t a problem).
And here is where it gets funny (NOT!), I get a phone call last night at 20:49 telling me that we are doing a make-up test on Saturday at 14:00, to which I repleid, no we are not, I haven’t got time to get my team there and to get things done since I do not have the pictures to see the hair, and that if I do show up it will be to do tests on TWO persons with no hair. I also added I did not like being ambushed in that way, if they can do it monday or tuesday it would be better less rushed and more professional.
Same night I reach home to find an email, saying that we are confirmed to start, to which I sent a scathing email reply saying NO WE ARE NOT CONFIRMED )poor girl I do feel some sympathy for her) I added that I felt that I was not being listened to! I rante and waffled on a bit about non-existent pictures about rush jobs and stuff like that, I cc-d the producer too Why should I shoot the messenger.
What boggles the mind is that people think that I am commited to a project when I haven’t signed ancontract or they have not presented me with a promissory note as an act of good faith.
That is not the kicker either, what is, is this: They think that I can drop everything and run to them to be at their beck and call at a snap of their fingers, well, I had stated that my days from Wednesday until Sunday were busy, that is where the core of my activity is at it peak, weddings and such. But no, they conveniently forgot that. So one has to resort to ones BITCH tactics to hammer the point in.

What is up with people, what gets to me in a huge way is that most of these people have worked abroad and know full well that the way they are conducting themselves is simply conduct unbecoming and very unprofessional. I feel as if I have stepped into a high school musical production, with petty intrigues and backstabbing and all that. These are the type of things that I left behind in 1983!!!!! What the hell I find myself being dragged back into the bog of stench that is Jordanian unprofessional conduct. And the best  part of it is the word “Professional” being bandied about like a rubber-band. As I repeat time and again “JUST KNOWING THE WORD DOESN’T MEAN THAT YOU KNOW WHAT IT MEANS!”.
So I muddle on, having a feeling that I am going to be royally shafted,it’s like that horrible feeling when you see yourself heading for a wall and the brakes have failed you!

I have been called “bitch”, “difficult”, & “impossible to work with!” by directors and producers. And my reply is this: Simply put I am the one who when hired is actually the most productive, my team does not fail any production, they work like a well-oiled machine whose mechanics run smoothly because I have instilled a sense of pride in what they are doing. And I take full responsibility for their screw ups as the head of the team, and I give them their just praise, my little munchkins I am so proud of them when they soar but I am their safety net when they fall. I am also known for fighting for my team, and being the mother bitch to anyone who tries to attack them! I am very protective.

I have not learnt to be humble though I can be modest, humility goes with humiliated, while I do know my worth and know what I can and have achieved and I will not let some piddling 20 something nor a 40 something for that matter try and drag me down to their insipid levels. The crass vulgarity of a lot of so called professionals behaviour is so infuriating and makes one want to take a flame-thrower to the whole bunch.

I have learnt the lesson time and time again, you cannot rely on anyone but yourself.

I have learnt the lesson the the saying “Time heals all wounds” is CRAP, it only makes the scar tissue thicker which dulls the pain somewhat.

I have learnt that people in this town are like leeches, no scratch that Lampreys, who latch on and try to suck the life out of you.

I have learnt that people are entitled little shits who take and take and give nothing not even a small thank you back.

I have learnt that people profess to miss you and yet the phone remains silent.

I have learnt that people respect my talent yet find me intimidating.

I have learnt that you will be disappointed by the lack of emotions in yourself, the fact that one cannot enjoy a single thing life throws at them because one is waiting constantly for that huge smack in the face that life inevitably gives you.

And yet even with all that I have learnt this week, I find I can still see this muddled up filthy existence for the joke it is and laugh at it. So please if you see my face in repose do not disturb it and ask whys so serious because I just might tell you the truth about life and all its gory details. And drag you kicking and screaming to my Darqueside where things are comfy and yes we do have waffles.

Enjoy your weekend

 

About descantia

A melting pot of contradictions! Artist, Designer (most media), Copywriter, Thespian, Chanteuse, Dancer, Performance artist, Make-up artist and so much more... The penultimate liberal hedonist with conservative leanings! Exacting, free, libertine with a Courtesan mentality! Honest, blunt, viciously unkind when dealing with fools, ingrates, liars, and any deceivers. Detests: Hypocrisy, Disloyalty, Infidelity, Stupidity, Anyone Devoid of Morals Ethics and decent manners and behaviour. Loves being a Snarky Grumpy Bitter Old Elitist!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things I have learnt this week! October 2011… :-D

  1. Pingback: On Selfishness | girl on the third floor

Leave a Reply

