Art or something like it!

Hello Skinlovers!

Here we go again, up and down and all around.
Nothing is more irritating than the idea of twaddle masquerading as ‘high’ culture. And that is a huge problem for ‘Art Scene’ here in Amman, we stumble across some really clever and talented artists, and then unfortunately we came across quite a number of lesser beings pretending and promoting themselves as artists.
And please spare me the ego involved.
I cannot cast blame on anyone our culture is not geared towards art (well it was in the years gone by and I mean way way back! But modern Jordan, not so much), I know people will grumble and argue that NO we DO have such a culture, and I will  counter with, hell NO! I find and this is my opinion not gospel truth, that most artists these days are disturbed, and disturbing, they fall into the categories of the “new Bohemians” (really?),  intellectuals/ pseudo intellectual, the activist fighters, the coffee table revolutionaries, the alcoholics, and the down-right mean-spirited! Please spare me the clichee overdose.

Example I was sitting with a young lady who claimed she was an artist, and I was like really what kind of art do you do? And she replied abstract! TO which I answered that was a kind of art I do not really understand but I can appreciate a good line or texture if the needs be.
So she starts to try and enlighten me about the ways of art, while saying that I couldn’t possibly understand or begin to comprehend art. Of course by the time I was finished laughing I had to explain that I had probably been drawing, painting, sculpting, designing, writing and breathing art before she was born, and of course I do not understand Art that is why the national gallery has a piece of mine.
But I couldn’t really get angry at her presumptuous behaviour, as I put that on par with someone studying psychology seeing everyone around them with a neurosis…

I do not call myself an artist ( others do though), my make-up, my design, my writings have all revolved around ART, it sounds silly but I lived it, breathed it, ate it & felt it most of my adult life.

I try and get out and see exhibitions but usually wind up leaving the galleries livid and pissed off as hell, I do not find art in Jordan stimulating and exciting, the galleries are not usually there to promote the art they are there to try and make money, that is the nature of the beast we face. Artists in Jordan, especially the fledgling ones need places to show their work based on merit and substance. But we are not that advanced yet, I am hopping it happens soon.

Those were my musings for now
Be safe Possums!

About descantia

A melting pot of contradictions! Artist, Designer (most media), Copywriter, Thespian, Chanteuse, Dancer, Performance artist, Make-up artist and so much more... The penultimate liberal hedonist with conservative leanings! Exacting, free, libertine with a Courtesan mentality! Honest, blunt, viciously unkind when dealing with fools, ingrates, liars, and any deceivers. Detests: Hypocrisy, Disloyalty, Infidelity, Stupidity, Anyone Devoid of Morals Ethics and decent manners and behaviour. Loves being a Snarky Grumpy Bitter Old Elitist!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

