Freedom of speech! Thanks for giving it to us, can we use it now? (a crtique on self-censorship)…

Hello Skinlovers!

I was reading blogs, some newspapers and then the thought struck me. It has been a while since I said anything about censorship.

While I believe that we all have the right to express ourselves, sometimes I think to myself, there are some whose voices I would like to silence.
Religious fanatics that bleat that they have no rights (yet if they were given their rights watch them turn around and trample everyone else’s rights)   are some of those. The silly little children who try and ruin each others lives (yes Gossip Girl Amman I am talking to you!), Bloggers who share and share and share every little intimate detail of their lives as if ours depended on it.
I know I sound like a cranky grumpy old sod just maybe I am, or maybe I just realised I am too old to waste my time reading tripe and nonsense, whatever the reason may be, I just try and keep mine to rants and observations, you really do not need to know how many sugars I had in my coffee or tea now do you?

Back to the topic, I know that the blogosphere was created for people to share and to bridge differences cultural and otherwise. But people  remember to be civil, the amount of swearing in a lot of the blogs I read was offending. You need to brush up and expand your vocabulary people! Seriously! All the foul language detracts from yout content and makes one cranky.
Also what people need to learn is that with freedom comes responsibility. And you should watch what you post (especially in Jordan) because you just might get yourself into trouble.
I hate Censorship, I really do, but every once in a while you really do need to check yourself and see what you projecting, because you might just have slipped into a negative way of thought. And you might risk getting repetitive too, hmmm, I think I have just done that! O dear!

The government is trying to curb critique of that August Body, so they want censorship, but realise this too, and I fear I might come across as a Conspiracy Theorist, but do you Jordanian bloggers think that our government does not know who we are. Yes indeed they do.
My belief is hiding in plain sight, say what you mean, but say with an escape route, be ambiguous and oblique, yet say it like it is!

Remember:
With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably. And when it is done in the name of the people the rights of the majority is enforced against the rights of ALL minorities! Once you have travelled down that road you will not be able to escape and ill will compound ill until all is chaos and injustice prevails.

 

 

About descantia

A melting pot of contradictions! Artist, Designer (most media), Copywriter, Thespian, Chanteuse, Dancer, Performance artist, Make-up artist and so much more... The penultimate liberal hedonist with conservative leanings! Exacting, free, libertine with a Courtesan mentality! Honest, blunt, viciously unkind when dealing with fools, ingrates, liars, and any deceivers. Detests: Hypocrisy, Disloyalty, Infidelity, Stupidity, Anyone Devoid of Morals Ethics and decent manners and behaviour. Loves being a Snarky Grumpy Bitter Old Elitist!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Freedom of speech! Thanks for giving it to us, can we use it now? (a crtique on self-censorship)…

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on hypocrisy and freedom of speech! « Freak Power

Leave a Reply

