State of the Art with a Capital F!

Hello Skin-Lovers!

Here’s a few words on Art.

According to Socrates Art is that which is there to make life more beautiful! A simplistic approach I believe. But art is also there to make you think, while I disapprove of “Shock Art” (Piss Christ by Andres Serrano a point in case), it does have its social criticism value.
As a young country the “Art Scene” is limited, we have a lot of “Artists” or as I like to call them Munificent Bull Shit Purveyors!

I find (and this is my opinion and not open to discussion) that a lot of our artists are copyists (although a lot of them do no realise it themselves). You look at their work and it is blatantly ripped-off from somewhere and someone. They immerse themselves in Art without realising that you do need to have a bit of a background in order to call yourself that.
I love the idea of the emerging Art-scene in Amman I liked it so much that I agreed to join a group of young designers/illustrators and more in a group effort called “Seams Like Art” The idea is a brilliant one, I submitted 3 Re-worked prints and a fabric painting Vintage and retro, and the other stuff was excellent it showed versatility and a wish for the alternative rather than the mundane, now whether it is to everyone’s taste or not is  up to debate, but it was different.

I hate the “Bored hausfrau” syndrome of O I am bored nothing to do so I take up painting and call myself an artist. This is an insult to those who are actually very talented and brilliant.
I try to be positive in my criticism and point out things but no nope never will they listen…

So I still paint and draw and hopefully we will reach a point in this country where people actually appreciate the creations of the multitude of Artists we have in this town…

About descantia

A melting pot of contradictions! Artist, Designer (most media), Copywriter, Thespian, Chanteuse, Dancer, Performance artist, Make-up artist and so much more... The penultimate liberal hedonist with conservative leanings! Exacting, free, libertine with a Courtesan mentality! Honest, blunt, viciously unkind when dealing with fools, ingrates, liars, and any deceivers. Detests: Hypocrisy, Disloyalty, Infidelity, Stupidity, Anyone Devoid of Morals Ethics and decent manners and behaviour. Loves being a Snarky Grumpy Bitter Old Elitist!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to State of the Art with a Capital F!

  1. shufimafi says:

    “So I still paint and draw and hopefully we will reach a point in this country where people actually appreciate the creations of the multitude of Artists we have in this town…”

    Amen. I still need to cover this. Good you enjoyed it and took part 🙂

Leave a Reply

